League Info







L E A G U E    I N F O R M A T I O N

"Recruiting nationally, competing locally"


The Ohio Valley Summer Collegiate Baseball League was born in October 2010. The initial four teams in the new Ohio Valley League were the Marion Bobcats, Owensboro Oilers, Fulton Railroaders and Tradewater Pirates, and began playing in the 2011. All four teams left the KIT League after the end of the 2010 season in order to form their own summer collegiate baseball league. The Ohio Valley League will play NCAA Rules and guidelines on the field. Wooden bats will still be used and the bulk of the season will be played in June and July.

Three of the four teams had played in the KIT League, a throwback to the original Kitty League, since their establishment—Fulton in 2004, Owensboro in 2006 and Marion in 2008. Tradewater began play in 1999 as an independent semi-pro team, but joined the KIT League in 2007. 


In 2012 the Ohio Valley League expanded to 5 teams, adding the Hoptown Hoppers from Hopkinsville, KY.  The Hoppers are another of the old Kitty League teams.  Also in 2012, the Tradewater Pirates moved to Madisonville, KY from Dawson Springs, KY.  In 2013 the Dubois County Bombers of Huntingburg Indiana joined the OVL for a total of 6 teams. 


In 2014 the Madisonville changed their team name to the Miners (formally Pirates) to carry on their Kitty League roots. In 2015 five teams were active; Oilers, Bombers, Miners, Hoppers and Railroaders. 


For 2016 the league added two more teams; the Paducah Chiefs and the Muhlenburg County Stallions, both Kentucky teams. The 7 OVL teams will now play a 42 game schedule each.


The League expects to add new teams in the future. Talks are ongoing with several other communities in Kentucky, Tennessee and Missouri.  


Inquiries on Franchise Opportunities.  To learn more about establishing and operating a baseball franchise in the Ohio Valley League contact Cubb Stokes at 270-627-4040 or email cubbstokes@hotmail.com (include "OVL Information request" in the subject line). Please include your phone number and email address in your request.  


There are a minimum of 42 games for each team with post season playoffs.  Teams in the OVL have minimum travel requirements for away games and return home after each game.  Reasonable fees and league assistance helps to establish each club. 


The Ohio Valley League Officials are: 

  • President - Cubb Stokes

  • Vice President - Charlie Pierce

  • Treasurer - Mike Smith

  • Secretary - Tricia Noel

For more information on individual teams in the Ohio Valley League, please check their websites (logo linked below) for the latest news and contact info.








 a Premier NBC League



















This webpage was last updated on 

Website Copyright © Design by JPD